12 Tequilas

Age: 38. My age is easy to figure out, because I was born at the beginning of a round year (Jan. 16, 1970 to be exact). So, guess what? In 2009, I’ll be 39. No math required!

Gender: Female

Location: Gaithersburg, Maryland (that’s Washington, D.C. metropolitan area…Maryland is deceptively large with its various regions including “Western Maryland,” “Southern Maryland,” and “Eastern Shore” … I live in what’s left).

Profession: Legal Editor (yes, I have a J.D.; no, I do not represent anybody)

Zodiac Sign: Capricorn

Politics: I is a member of the Democratic Party. I is not a big fan of political discussion. However, I must say that the whole Democratic nomination garbage going on right now has pissed me off enough that I’ll talk about it.

Bio: I have been at my current job for 10 years, and stick with it not only because I like it, but because I have great supervisers, and I don’t think I could stand it if I ended up with a lesser boss at another job. There’d have to be a lot more money, let’s put it that way.

I have also been married for 10 years, and stick with it because it is working. I feel fortunate to have endured some problematic relationships before this one, because they taught me what I don’t want to deal with for the rest of my life. I totally get how a person decides to get married and it doesn’t work out, because if certain things were different, I could have married one or another of my prior boyfriends, and it would have been a mistake. I just got lucky there.

I have a son about to start Kindergarten, and a pre-preschooler (hard to call him a toddler when he dashes about like he does). They rock! There is also a canine and a feline dependent, who are 3 and 12 years old, respectively.

I have one older and one younger sister. They each have two children. They look like me, and when we get together we make each other laugh such that others wonder what is so funny, and of course we can’t explain it.

I am a procrastinator. I love to read (usually fiction but I can’t resist parenting essays) and listen to music, and I watch entirely too much TV. I love movies, too. I am an active member of my Toastmasters club. I actually enjoy working out but don’t ever have time to. I love Star Trek, Peanuts, M*A*S*H, Muppets, Food Network, and Disney World (only been there once, in 1997). Buying a new lipstick or nail polish makes me happy. So does good cheese. I collect shotglasses (but do not drink tequila out of them…see this post for explanation).

When deciding what I wanted to do with my life, I had a mistaken belief that there are math/science people, and creative/artistic people, and that the two are mutually exclusive. I also thought I absolutely had to go to graduate school right after college. I did not pursue math or science even though I was good at them, because I wanted to be one of the creative ones. I went to law school to get into the entertainment industry, but changed my focus later on. If I had it to do over again, I’m not sure I would have gone to law school at all.

I have fantasies of becoming a nutritionist (don’t eat well enough for that), a professional organizer (ha! you should see my house), or a financial advisor (once I get out of debt).

Real Name: Rebecca. You deserve to know, because you clicked here. Just don’t call me Becky.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *